June 4, 2013

I've moved!

Anyone visiting my blog for the past few months knows I am a strong support of Brenda Novak's Online Auction for Diabetes Research.  Not only do I donate items and help organize categories, but I also bid on items.  One item I bid on this year and won was a website design by Harvey Stanbrough.  Harvey has spent the past few days working on setting up my new website, which includes a blog page.  So...after many happy years at blogspot....my blog is moving.  For now, I will keep this blog open, as I need to see if there is anything I want to archive before deleting it (and I may not delete it, I may just leave up for future research efforts).

In the meantime and future, please visit my new website at: www.aklanier.com  Access my blog at http://aklanier.com/annas-blog/.

See you there!

Anna Kathryn Lanier

June 2, 2013

The 21st Annual Lone Star Writing Competition

Three first round judges, three final round judges!

**Permission to forward is granted and appreciated***
***Deadline will not be extended***
The 21st Annual Lone Star Writing Competition sponsored by Northwest Houston RWA.
Last year, our finalists received an overwhelming response: a total of 14 full and 6 partial requests covering all categories.
  • Two published authors and one unpublished author for first round judges.
  • Finalists go before a panel of three professionals in the industry which may include any of the following: agent/editor/epublisher.
  • Contest is open to unpublished and published authors. (See eligibility requirements by clicking the link below.)
Entry fee: $20 NWH members; $25 non-NWH members. (U.S. funds, only)
All electronic. First 25 pages, no synopsis. Entries must arrive via the entry form on the chapter’s website by midnight June 8, 2013 CDT. Any entries received after the deadline will be deleted unopened.
First place winners in each category will receive the custom made sterling silver Lone Star Brooch AND a website banner !!!! Achievement certificates will be awarded to all finalists.
For more information including rules, the score sheet, and entry form, see our website at http://nwhrwa.com/writers-events/lonestar-contest/.

Eligibility: Unpublished may enter any category. Published may enter any category in which they're not published, or in which they've not been contracted for five years. Open to RWA and non-RWA members.
Questions may be directed to the contest coordinator at jayegarland@gmail.com.

Jaye Garland, 2013 Contest Chair
Lone Star Writing Competition
2nd Vice President, NWHRWA